slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

Wayne State Still NSCRO’s Champ

  • 29 Apr 2019

Photo courtesy NSCRO Facebook

For the second consecutive year, Wayne State College is the 7s and 15s national champion in the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO). The Nebraska school took home its 10th NSCRO title last weekend, defeating the University of Rochester 31-7 in the final. Kennedy Jones was named championship MVP and the Wildcats sent two players to the all-tournament team.

See full results below.

Sixteen teams from coast to coast traveled to Cheswick, Pa., and were divided in four. At the end of pool play, Wayne State College, Endicott College (Mass.), Simpson College (Iowa) and the University of Rochester (N.Y.) were 3-0 in their respective pools, and went on to win their quarterfinals.

Wayne State College bettered Simpson College 21-5 in the semifinals, while Rochester topped Endicott 17-0. The Wildcats put in a convincing performance in the final, downing Rochester 31-7 for the team’s fifth NSCRO 7s National Championship title. The Nebraska school has won every 7s trophy save 2017, when Colgate won. In 15s, the Wildcats have won five of the seven national titles (Roger Williams won in 2014 and MSU Moorhead in 2015).

Kennedy Jones Photo courtesy NSCRO Facebook

Kennedy Jones was recognized as the championship’s Most Valuable Player and joined teammate Brook Hoesing on the all-tournament team. Sydni Carpenter (Findlay), Emily Grey (Rochester), Anna Herrmann (Simpson College), Nicole McCardle (Endicott ) and Emily Sion (St. Bonaventure) were also recognized on the honorary squad.



Wayne State 26-12 Findlay

Wayne State 22-0 Swarthmore

Wayne State 26-12 Colgate

Colgate 17-15 Findlay

Colgate 19-5 Swarthmore

Findlay 14-10 Swarthmore


Endicott 41-10 Colorado College

Endicott 22-10 Angelo State

Endicott 17-5 Eckerd

Eckerd 19-12 Angelo State

Eckerd 25-0 Colorado College

Angelo State 29-10 Colorado College


Simpson 36-0 Middlebury

Simpson 20-17 Lee

Simpson 26-10 St Bonaventure

Lee 20-17 St. Bonaventure

Lee 38-15 Middlebury

St Bonaventure 26-19 Middlebury


Rochester 36-10 MiraCosta

Rochester 36-5 Cal Univ If PA

Rochester 9-5 York

York 24-10 Cal Univ of PA

York 12-5 MiraCosta

MiraCosta 29-17 Cal Univ of PA


Cup QFs

Wayne State 29-0 York

Rochester 17-14 Colgate

Simpson 19-12 Eckerd

Endicott 17-7 Lee

Consolation SFs

Colgate 10-7 Lee

Eckerd 17-0 York

7th: Lee 10-0 York

5th: Eckerd 14-12 Colgate

Cup SFs

Wayne State 21-5 Simpson

Rochester 17-0 Endicott

3rd: Endicott 12-10 Simpson

Championship: Wayne State 31-7 Rochester

Bowl QFs

Findlay 15-10 Cal Univ of PA

MiraCosta 27-7 Swarthmore

St Bonaventure 33-17 Colorado College

Angelo State 38-22 Middlebury

Consolation SFs

Colorado College 15-10 Cal Univ of PA

Middlebury 22-0 Swarthmore

13th: Middlebury 10-7 Colorado College

15th: Swarthmore 17-5 Cal Univ of PA

Bowl SFs

St Bonaventure 14-12 Findlay

MiraCosta 22-10 Angelo State

9th: MiraCosta 27-12 St Bonaventure

11th: Findlay 17-12 Angelo State

MVP: Kennedy Jones, Wayne State College


Sydni Carpenter – Univ. Findlay

Emily Grey – Univ. Rochester

Anna Herrmann – Simpson College

Brook Hoesing – Wayne State College

Kennedy Jones – Wayne State College

Nicole McCardle – Endicott College

Emily Sion – St. Bonaventure Univ.

#WayneStateCollege NSCRO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.