slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

Champion Hawkettes Select Lakefront Squad

  • 18 Jun 2019

The last few years, Lakefront 7s (June 29, Milwaukee) has made a concerted effort to stoke girls’ high school 7s in the Midwest by fielding a competitive division toward which teams can build. As such, all-star teams like the Iowa Hawkettes – the three-time champions – have circled this Lake Michigan event as its summer showcase.

RELATED: 2018 Hawkettes Triumphs2019 Women’s Rugby Calendar

“Finding 7s tournaments is still a struggle, and Lakefront is our main focus as usual,” Hawkettes head coach Kelsie McDowell noted. “We do have 22 girls though and picked 15 from our weekly scrimmages. They’re not making the selection easy either.”

Those not selected to the final squad will still be invited to observe Lakefront 7s, which has drawn teams from Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois and Indiana, in addition to Iowa. Looking ahead, McDowell is toying with the idea of a Hawkettes 15s team, as players like Sydney Julich and Ava Denner are pursuing all-star 15s with entities like EIRA Midwest at the Regional Cup Tournaments.

For more information on the Lakefront 7s, click here.


Becca Anselme: Ankeny

Katie Brandt: Roosevelt 

Sarah Breitsprecker: Southeast Polk 

Ava Denner*: Roosevelt

Madie Dunn: Ankeny

Emmersyn Forest: Southeast Polk

Portia Jones: East

Sydney Julich*: Ankeny

Jada Morris: Roosevelt

Jocee Morris: Roosevelt

Nancy Odir: Dowling

Adeline Riedmann: Indianola 

Kaylee Sartell: Southeast Polk

Shianne Simmers: Mason City

Gabby Thomas: Mason City 

Head Coach: Kelsie McDowell

Assistant Coach: Nick Sawhill 

S&C Coach: Joe White

* Captains 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.