slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

Ashfield Promoted to Stanford Director of Rugby

  • 24 Aug 2023
Stanford rugby Ashfield

PALO ALTO, CA – Stanford University is happy to announce the appointment of Richard Ashfield as the new Director of Rugby at The Farm. Ashfield has operated as the Assistant Coach for the past seven years at Stanford Rugby, working under previous Director Josh Sutcliffe.

Before he arrived on The Farm, Ashfield relocated to the Bay Area from Providence, R.I. He helped Providence College to the USA Rugby Women’s Division 2 National Championship in 2005. In the Women’s Premier League, Ashfield guided Beantown to seven consecutive national top 4 finishes. Additionally, he held positions as an assistant coach for Brown University Men’s Rugby and head coach of the Providence Rugby Club.

At the international level, Ashfield joined the USA Rugby Women’s Eagles staff in 2013. At Rugby World Cup 2017, Ashfield helped harness a talented USA backline that springboarded the Eagles to fourth place in Ireland. He operated as the interim head coach of the USA Women’s National Team from January 2023 – September 2023.

As a native of Hillsborough, Northern Ireland, Ashfield and his wife, Kelly, reside in San Mateo, Calif., with their three children, Oliver, Jack, and Owen (all rugby players!).

“I am very excited to take over as the Director of Rugby at Stanford University,” Ashfield told Stanford Rec & Wellness. “The rugby program has an extensive history of excellence in both the men’s and women’s programs. When I moved here seven years ago, I never expected the impact that Stanford would have on me. I hope I can continue to move the program forward and give the student-athletes a rewarding experience both on and off the pitch.”

Stanford Women’s Rugby (SWR) competes in the CRAA Division I Pacific Mountain Rugby Conference. The Cardinal is the reigning champion and last year advanced to the spring 15s semifinals.  SWR has appeared in nine USA Rugby DI National Championship finals, winning in 1999, 2005, 2006 and 2008.

Article Categories: