slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

CRC 7s to Induct 1st Hall of Fame Class

  • 11 Mar 2024

NCR — Accolades for the inaugural class of the Collegiate Rugby Championship Hall of Fame include three Super Bowl titles, two World Cup appearances, five CRC titles, an Olympics and countless professional and international caps. Inductees will be enshrined live during the 2024 CRC, April 26-28 in Boyds, Md., in front of 144 teams and thousands of fans.

Two men’s players and two women’s players have been selected, but headlining the inaugural class are Jon and Patti Prusmack, the creators of the Collegiate Rugby Championship. Jon birthed the tournament in 2010 and, with Patti by his side, blazed a commercial trail for American rugby, elevating the college game to be played in major stadiums and on national television for a decade. The continuation of the CRC in Jon’s passing would not be possible without Patti, who remains a part owner of the event.


In the CRC, the Prusmacks created college rugby’s brightest stage. A decade and a half later, it’s grown to the largest college rugby tournament in the world while remaining the pinnacle proving ground for future Eagles, Olympians and pros.

Two of the first athletes to catapult to stardom from their CRC performances are included in the inaugural class. Before lifting three Lombardi trophies with the New England Patriots and becoming the first player in history to win an NFL championship and compete in the Olympics in the same year, Nate Ebner starred for Ohio State in the first two CRCs.

Bowling Green speedster Rocco Mauer also rose to prominence at the inaugural CRC, leading the tournament in tries, while earning All American honors and helping the USA win bronze at the 2011 Pan American Games.

They’re joined by two of the tournament’s first dynastic champions. Meya Bizer started her collegiate career playing soccer and gridiron before transferring to play rugby at Penn State, becoming a four-time All American, a four-time national champion in 15s, and a three-time CRC champion, leading the Nittany Lions to consecutive titles from 2013-2016. After two World Cups, Bizer is starring for the Ealing Trailfinders in the Women’s Premiership in England.

Three-time All American KB Slaughter helped the Life Running Eagles to back-to-back CRC titles in 2016 and 2017. Slaughter debuted with the 15s national team against New Zealand in 2018 and helped the Experts win the Premier Rugby Sevens United Championship in 2023. Slaughter also became the first Life University Women’s Rugby player inducted into the Running Eagles’ Hall of Fame.

2024 Inductees

Jon Prusmack (CRC founder)
Patti Prusmack (CRC founder)
Meya Bizer (2013, 2014, 2015 CRCs)
KB Slaughter (2016, 2017 CRCs)
Nate Ebner (2010, 2011 CRCs)
Rocco Mauer (2010 CRC)

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply