slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

Emerging Details: CRAA 7s & 15s Finale Weekend

  • 23 Apr 2024
GCU Women's Rugby

The College Rugby Association of America (CRAA) is hosting its women’s spring 15s finals and nationals 7s championship on May 3-5 in Houston, Texas. The competitions are part of a larger CRAA event that also includes men’s matches and will occur at the SaberCats’ stadium. [Lead photo: GCU’s Amaya De La Cruz / Jeff Dalton Photography @jeffd2u]

The women’s national 7s championship occurs on Friday-Saturday, May 3-4, and fields both Premier and Club brackets. There are 10 teams in Premier, and they’re all NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and DI Elite programs:

Central Washington Univ
Dartmouth College
Davenport Univ
Harvard Univ
Life Univ
Lindenwood Univ
Long Island Univ
Penn State Univ
Princeton Univ
Sacred Heart Univ

TBA on the format, but a champion will be named on Saturday.

Details regarding the Club bracket are TBA. 4.30 Update: There are eight DI and DII teams competing. They’re divided into two pools of four teams, and will contest pool play on Friday:

POOL 1: Air Force, Colorado State, San Jose St, UCLA

POOL 2: Cal Poly SLO, Colorado Mesa Univ, UC Irvine, Western Washington

Incredibly, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo will compete in the 7s championship on Friday-Sunday AND THEN play its spring 15s final on Sunday. Wild. Grand Canyon and Stanford, who would have been good additions to the DI 7s championship, are facing each other in the DI spring 15s final Sunday.

The two spring 15s finals occur on Sunday, May 5:

12 p.m. CT Women’s DII Spring 15s Championship
Eckerd College v Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

4 p.m. CT Women’s DI Spring 15s Championship
Grand Canyon Univ v Stanford

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply