slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

Hawkeye Classic Grows Up

  • 06 Feb 2019

USA Rugby’s College 7s National Championship traditionally occurs two weeks after its 15s spring championships, and teams are looking for means to qualify for the 7s event in mid-May. The 3rd Annual Hawkeye Classic, an indoor 7s tournament, has drawn 17 teams from seven states to Iowa City on Feb. 16, and host University of Iowa has applied for automatic qualifier (AQ) status for its Division I participants.

RELATED: 2019 Women’s Rugby Calendar

Eight teams in two pools are competing in the DI Collegiate bracket:

• Pool A: Illinois, Iowa, Purdue, Northern Illinois

• Pool B: Illinois State, Iowa State, Notre Dame, Univ. Wisconsin

These teams will go through pool play, and then the top team in each pool will contest the DI Collegiate championship. But the day doesn’t end there. There are also Mixed Collegiate and Open Women brackets that weave senior club, DI Elite, Division II and NSCRO (small school) teams together:

• Mixed College (Pool C): Iowa B, Marquette, Simpson, Wayne State College, Wayne State College B

• Open Women (Pool D): Chicago Lions, Chicago Lions B, KC Jazz, Lindenwood B

All four brackets will contest crossover matches after pool play, and the Hawkeye Classic Cup will be decided between the DI Collegiate champion and the Pool C/D champion.

Matt Ragan will serve as head referee, and he’ll be supported by fellow officials David Jerson and Tyler Dailey. Tournament director and Iowa head coach Jim Estes has lined up trainers, warm-up areas, locker rooms, a videographer, concessions, and trophies for the DI and Cup champions.

USA Rugby has not officially announced the date and location for the national 7s championship, but watch the event site for information.

#Hawkeye7s Iowa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.