slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

The Year: College 15s Championships

  • 06 May 2019

Photo: K J Paynter for USA Rugby (see more)

All of the collegiate 15s championships have been decided for the 2018-19 season, and the following is a neat recap of all the title winners. The categories are divided into national and seasonal (spring/fall) champions. For a visual recap, and more detail into each champion’s pathway to its respective title, click here for brackets.

For a list of historical champions – club, college, high school, 7s and 15s – click here.


Three organizations award national 15s titles: National Intercollegiate Rugby Association (NIRA), National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) and USA Rugby’s DI Elite.

• NIRA (NCAA varsity league): In November 2018, Dartmouth College (NH) defeated Harvard University (MA) 19-14, and Mount St. Mary’s University (MD) beat Sacred Heart University (CT) 22-15 for the Tier 2 title.

• NSCRO: In December 2018, Wayne State College (NE) defeated Catholic University (DC) 67-12. The Wildcats went on to win the NSCRO 7s National Championship in late April 2019.

• USAR DI ELITE: In April 2019, Lindenwood University (MO) defeated Life University (GA) 36-19.



• FALL: Air Force (CO) defeated Davenport University (MI) 40-27 in Dec. 2018

• SPRING: BYU (UT) defeated Virginia Tech (VA) 48-0 in May 2019


• FALL: Vassar College (NY) defeated Winona State (MN) 50-13 in Dec. 2018

• SPRING: Fresno State (CA) defeated Salisbury University (MD) 25-19 in May 2019

SEVENS … There are two 7s national championships: NSCRO and USA Rugby, which fields three brackets this year. Wayne State College won the NSCRO 7s title, 31-7 over Rochester; and USA Rugby’s Elite, DI and DII championships will occur May 24-26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.