slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

HS 15s National Tournament: 12 Subscribe, Room for 16

  • 14 Feb 2022

The Girls’ High School Rugby National Tournament is taking shape, as 12 teams have registered for the 22nd annual 15s event, which occurs May 21-22, 2022, at Notre Dame College (Euclid, Ohio). Single-school teams from Wisconsin (3), Ohio (2), New York (2), Idaho, Indiana, Michigan, Pennsylvania and South Carolina have signed on, and there’s still room for interested parties.

RELATED: Team Registration Form

“With 12 teams currently registered, we are aiming for 16 total teams,” National Girls Coaches Committee member John Waliszewski explained. “That would give us a bracket of eight teams in DI and eight teams in DII. If we find ourselves with less than 16, the DII competition will be structured with pool play.”

The following teams have registered:

  • Catholic Memorial High School (Crusaders) – Waukesha, Wis., 2021 Wisconsin State Champion
  • City Honors School (Centaurs) – Buffalo, N.Y., 2021 New York State Champion
  • Divine Savior Holy Angels (Dashers) – Milwaukee, Wis., 2021 Wisconsin State Runner-up
  • Eagle High School (Lady Mustangs) – Eagle, Idaho. 2021 Idaho State 7s Champion; 2021 Idaho State 15s Runner-up
  • Grandville High School (Bulldogs) – Grandville, Mich. 2021 Michigan State Runner-up
  • Hamilton High School (Chargers) – Sussex, Wis. 2021 Wisconsin State 3rd Place
  • Highland High School (Lady Buzzards) – Medina, Ohio. 2021 Ohio State 15s Champion; 2021 Ohio State 7s Champion
  • Orchard Park High School (Quakers) – Orchard Park, N.Y. 2021 New York State Runner-Up
  • Penn High School – Mishawaka, Ind. 2019 Indiana State Runner-up
  • Joseph Academy (Jaguars) – Cleveland, Ohio. 2021 Ohio State Runner-up
  • State College High School (Lions) – State College, Pa.
  • Wando High School (Wahines) – Mount Pleasant, S.C. 2021 South Carolina State Champion

While there is still room for teams to participate (fill out this registration form to formally log interest), the “maybe” list includes teams from Indiana, Ohio Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Utah. Additionally, there is also the option for JV or B side games for traveling teams, and those interested should contact Waliszewski.

Teams that are interested in competing need to first submit the initial registration form. Team agreements must be signed, scanned and e-mailed by March 30, and the paper team agreement must be mailed with the $500 entry fee to:

Notre Dame College Women’s Rugby
Attn: Sue Joliat, Girls National Tournament
4545 College Rd.
South Euclid, OH 44121

For teams that have already registered, they can start planning for the some of the social aspects of the event. For example, it’s tradition for players to exchange a small gift with their first-round opponent. Typically, players exchange items with their opposite number.

“The main point is to create an opportunity to spark a conversation and connect with ruggers from other states,” Waliszewski explained. “Some examples of past exchanges include cheese – Wisconsin of course! – a state key chain, team t-shirts, and state or team patches.”

It’s also tradition for teams to name two MVPs from the opposition after each match. Usually, it’s the captains who nominate the other team’s standouts, and they share a few words about those players’ contributions to the game. Again, the purpose is to highlight the camaraderie and sportsmanship that mark rugby.

Remember: The Girls High School Rugby National Tournament is different from high school club nationals, which caters to multi-school teams and takes place May 20-22 in Wayne, Neb.

For more information, contact:

John Waliszewski
National Girls Coaches Committee (single schools), 262-501-2780

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.