slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

16 Sides Feature at Midwest HS 15s Championship

  • 17 Apr 2023

The 2023 Midwest High School 15s Championship will be held April 29-30 at the Moose Rugby Grounds in Elkhart, Ind. The annual tournament attracts heavyweights from multiple states, and several will also feature at the Single-School National Tournament (May 20-21, Wisconsin Rugby Complex in Cottage Grove, Wis.). The Midwest championship will feature three competitions: Division I, Open and J.V.

RELATED: MW Championship Schedule & Results

Navy rugby camp ad

2022 national champion Divine Savior Holy Angels (DSHA) headlines the field and brings with it a Wisconsin state title from October. Catholic Memorial High has long been the Dashers main competition and fellow state finalist, but Hamilton made its first-ever appearance in the fall. The Crusaders will be at Midwests, and all three Wisconsin teams will be at high school nationals.

Michigan’s top-two 15s teams — state champion Sparta-Rock and Grandville High School — will also be on the grass pitches of the Moose Rugby Grounds. Sparta Rock stays active after the state season, traveling to warmer climates for 7s and 15s competitions. The Bulldogs are regulars at single-school nationals.

Host state Indiana has three teams in the top division: Carroll Chargers, Penn and Warsaw. The Chargers are the 15s runner-up from 2022 and won the most recent fall 7s state championship. Warsaw is an interesting team in that it essentially gets two 15s seasons. In lieu of Indiana’s fall 7s season, the team competes in Michigan as an independent member that is not eligible for playoffs. Both played games last Saturday: Warsaw tied reigning state 15s champion Carmel 24-24, and the Chargers beat Westfield 57-10. On April 19, Warsaw beat the Carroll Chargers 34-15 to solidify the seedings and schedule.

TRB advertisement

Midwest HS 15s Championship
Quarterfinals (Times Central)
10 a.m. Divine Savior Holy Angels vs. Penn
10 a.m. Grandville vs. St. Joseph Academy
11 a.m. Catholic Memorial vs. Warsaw
11 a.m. Sparta Rock vs. Carroll Chargers

Penn competes in Division II, both in Indiana and at the national level. The team will feature in the top division at Midwests.

St. Joseph Academy represents the state of Ohio. The Jaguars are the reigning state 7s champion and currently 4-0 in the Division I league, defeating Walnut Hills, Brunswick, Medina and Perrysburg so far.

Stay tuned for seedings and schedule following the April 19 match between Carroll and Warsaw.

The Open Division features five teams from three states: Berkley of Michigan; Brunswick and Perrysburg from Ohio; and Ft. Wayne and Noblesville from Indiana. There are also three states in the J.V. Division: Carroll (Ind.), DSHA (Wis.) and St. Joe’s (Ohio).

Reference for updates.

Article Categories: