slide 1
slide 1

NOTE: Only paying subscribers have access to locked content. LEARN MORE.

SD Mustangs Replace Cancelled LAI Weekend

  • 04 Mar 2022

When the Los Angeles Invitational 7s tournament was canceled alongside its World Rugby Sevens Series parent, many West Coast teams were left with a vacancy on their calendars. But the San Diego Mustangs got to work and are now providing a quality replacement that has drawn out-of-state teams to SoCal.

There are six teams in a U18 10s division, and three U15 sides playing 7s. The hosts are coached by Ken and Bella Devore, and their team will compete in the U18 bracket alongside the:

Arizona Bobcats, whose players are coming right out of the Rugby Arizona 7s season (Scotsdale feature forthcoming);
• Fallbrook Warriors, which won the SCYR High School DI 7s Championship last Saturday (read more);
• Kahuku Raiders, who hosted the San Diego Mustangs last year during the Californians’ Hawaiian tour;
Rhinos Rugby Academy, a National Development Program, which has a base in San Clemente; and
• South Bay Spartans, which feature many players from Carson High School, the current SCIRF champion.

The Arizona Bobcats, South Bay and the Rhinos will be fielding U15 squads. Additionally, the Bobcats will be playing Dave Cobb’s Thunder U15 team in Carlsbad Friday night.

Saturday’s games were originally supposed to take place at Pacific Highlands Ranch Community Park, but the event has now moved to Cathedral Catholic High School. Eagle Eye scout Benjamin Lebeaupin will be present, as will Nusi Tukuafu, who is based in Utah but rooted in Hawaii.

Rosters will be updated as they’re made available:

Macy Baerman
Quincy Bowers
Charlotte Brandt
Lily Carlson
Mikaylah Coppock
Elanna Field
Keleni Jacons
Aubreeana King
Adanya Nicoson
Hina Paea
Kiley Pappas
Hailey Patterson
Alexandria Sutandar
Brooke Taylor
Sulynn West
Aspen Wrzesinske

Coaches: Tim Pappas, Ted Brandt

Fallbrook, CA
Brianna Beath
Liberty Benitez
Jordan Duncan
Sahryse Fong
Tatum Gillihan
Cora Haughey
Emma (AJ) Haughey
Sydney Miller
Tiahna Padilla
Itsarely Palma Castillo
Lucy Powell
Kailey Peet
Solana Shimura
Emily Weber

Kahuku, Hawaii
Pualani Beebe
Kahale Emmsley
Aaliyah Farley
Margaret Fonoti
Ani Hippolite
Jule-Dine Kawaauhau
Triana Lauaki
Mia Nauti
Mosiananga Nuitupuhivaha
Kawehi Ponciano
Ioana Roberts
Vai Talanoa
Salote Valikoula

vs Kahuku
Gabby Bryant
Brooke Layne
Hannah Mulligan
Gracie Wohlford
Lindsey Mulligan
Krissa Casao
Arabella Cassidy
Zaniah Hutton
Grabriela Sanchez

Paris Jones
Cassie Dugdale
Carly Newbanks
Danae Cargill
Sam Levine
Lianna Hernandez

vs Arizona Bobcats
Anviti Kandadi
Felicia Baca
Savannah Cockrell
Saavi XXX
Madison Dinh
Mia Jensen
Carly Newbanks
Maya Davydov
Dalia Elbanna
Dina Cressman

Alexis Taylor
Lexi Ulrich
Ivy Davis
Hilary Hill
Stephanie Perez

Carson, CA
Crystal Cisneros
Madison Fua
Shirley Gonzales
Destiny Guerra
Aliyah Flowers
Neryah Lokeni
Sieni Mesake
Aleila Moala
Brooklyn Moala
Katelyn Padua
Aries Popoalii
Madison Pula
Gracie Sanchez
Joycelyn Scott
Fiapaipai Tui
Theodora Tuitupou
Lupe Uiagalelei
Pina Uigaese
Janiyah Vaifanua
Jayda Vaifanua
Morea Vivao
Moria Vivao

Carlsbad, CA
Aiyanna Eteuini
Ariella Spilkin
Ella Raleigh
Eva Yamamoto
Janei Taupule
Kaitlyn McKinney
Kierra DeForest
Leilua Faatili
Lily Wakefield
Maia Tavale
Maile Fernandez
Marlee Garrison
Meliah Poumele-Flores
Mia Oh
Mikayla Poumele-Flores
Selassie Ilasa
Zoe Zumbro

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.